About the trust

The trustees of the Ouseley Church Music Trust administer the funds that arose from the closure and sale of St Michael's College, Tenbury Wells - the choir school founded by Sir Frederick Ouseley.

The object of the charity is:

'to [promote and maintain] to a high standard the choral services of the Church of England, the Church in Wales or the Church of Ireland (whether simple or elaborate) in such ways as the trustees... think fit, including... promoting the religious, musical and secular education of pupils attending any school in which instruction in the doctrines of any of the said churches is given and the performance of the liturgy is observed.'

Applications must be submitted by an institution and, in the main, this will be a cathedral, parish church, choir, college or school. They fall into five categories: courses, endowments, fees for individual choristers at choir schools, the purchase of liturgical music and other projects of an innovative kind which may, in exceptional circumstances, include commissions.

In every case, the trustees look for clear evidence that a grant would serve to promote and maintain a high standard of choral service.

Up to 40 forty grants have been are awarded each year since the Trust was established, ranging from ₤150 for the purchase of music to ₤50,000 for the endowment of a cathedral choristership bearing Ouseley's name. To date (2021) over ₤3.5 million has been distributed in this way.

Where the Trust has endowed a choristership in perpetuity, it presents the choral foundation with a medal to be worn by the Ouseley chorister during his or her year of office. The medal, struck in silver, depicts St Michael slaying a dragon in a design made by Harry Brockway and based upon the College's badge.


The Ouseley Church Music Trust is a registered charity numbered 527519 constituted by a Scheme made by the Charity Commissioners for England & Wales on 6 December 1989. The Trust is administered and managed by a body of twelve trustees - six nominative and six co-optative. The nominative trustees are appointed by the office holders or institutions named below. The co-optative trustees are appointed by the trustees themselves.

The Trust's income is almost wholly derived from its historic endowment and, in recent years, it has enabled the trustees to make grants averaging ₤130,000 per annum.

The trustees usually meet twice a year - in March and October.


Nominative trustees
Mrs Gillian Perkins (by the Archbishop of Canterbury)
Dr Christopher J Robinson CVO CBE (by the Royal College of Organists)
Mr Richard Whymark (by the Choir Schools Association)
The Very Reverend Mark Boyling, The Dean of Carlisle (by the Archbishop of York)
Timothy Byram-Wigfield (by the Church Music Society)
Canon Paul Mason (by the Royal College of Music)

Co-optative trustees
Canon Stephen M Darlington (Chairman)
Samantha Bradburne
Simon Hirtzel
David Lowe
Dr John Rutter CBE
The Reverend Canon Joanna Spreadbury

Neil Parsons

back to top >

Design made by Harry Brockway, 2002

Reports & Accounts

The most recently published Trustees' Report and the Financial Statements of the Trust may be found by clicking here. In addition, you may request a copy of them by contacting the Clerk at The OuseleyChurch Music Trust, PO Box 1505, Wroxham, Norwich, NR12 8TJ or clerk@ouseleytrust.org.uk

back to top >

Professional Advisers

Accountants & auditors
Dyke, Ruscoe & Hayes
40 Teme Street
Tenbury Wells
Worcs. WR15 8AA
Telephone: 01584 810 322
Fax: 01584 811 532

Charities Aid Foundation
King's Hill
West Malling
Kent ME9 2TA
Telephone: 0800 954 8797
Fax: 08700 605 508

Investment adviser
Brewin Dolphin
12 Smithfield Street
London EC1A 9BD
Telephone: 0845 213 1000
Fax: 0845 213 1001

Legal advisers
Norris & Miles
6 Market Square
Tenbury Wells
Worcs. WR15 8BW
Telephone: 01584 810 515
Fax: 01584 811 759

back to top >

Home | About the trust | Contact us | Procedure & Guidelines | Sir Frederick Ouseley | Links | How you can help